Penalties for a Hit and Run in South Carolina
In every state, it is a crime to intentionally leave the scene of a car accident you were involved in without providing your contact information or rendering aid to anyone who may need assistance. It does not matter whether you caused the accident or not. You can be charged with a hit and run based solely on the act of you leaving the scene of a car accident you were involved in. In South Carolina, the penalties for a hit and run range from a misdemeanor to felony charges, including 30 days in jail to 25 years in prison, and fines of $100 to $25,000. If you have been charged with a hit and run, the penalties you will likely be facing all depend on the facts of your case and the extent of the injuries suffered by the victim.
Your Legal Duties After a Car Accident
In South Carolina, if you have been involved in a car accident, you are required to:
- Stop your vehicle at the scene of the accident or as close to it as possible;
- You may temporarily leave the scene to report the accident to the proper authorities, but must return to the scene of the accident afterward;
- Provide your name, address and registration number of your vehicle to the other driver;
- Provide your driver’s license if requested;
- Render aid to any person injured, including calling 911 and requesting medical assistance.
Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident
If you are charged with a hit and run, the penalties you could face depend on the type of injury the victim of the accident suffered. The bottom line is that is it crucial to stay at the scene of the accident.
- Accident Resulting in Injury to the Victim
Can be charged with a misdemeanor and receive a penalty of 30 days to 1 year in jail, and/or a fine of $100 to $5,000.
- Accident Resulting in Great Bodily Injury to the Victim
Can be charged with a felony and receive a penalty of 30 days to 10 years imprisonment and a fine of $5,000 to $10,000. “Great bodily injury” is defined as an injury that creates a risk of death, causes disfigurement, or results in loss of bodily or organ function.
- Accident Resulting in Death to the Victim
In the event that the hit and run accident resulted in the death of a victim, the liable party can be charged with a felony and receive a penalty of one year to 35 years imprisonment and a fine of $10,000 to $25,0000.
Contact a South Carolina Criminal Defense Attorney Today
If you have been arrested for a hit and run, or contacted by a police officer investigating you for a hit and run, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately before speaking to anyone. Penalties for hit and run accidents can include a felony on your record, serious prison terms, and large fines. It is important to have an attorney on your side to fight for you and to help protect your rights. Contact William A. Hodge, Attorney at Law, today to discuss your legal options. Please call our office today at (803) 457-2216 or schedule a consultation online.